Page 1 of 1

Table Builder - Concatenate

Posted: Mon Oct 17, 2016 10:07 am
by a1becker
I am trying to Concatenate two Text fields within the Table Builder. Here is my current formula.

=NP("Formula","CONCATENATE([@[No.]]," - ",[@[Name]])")

The result when I run the Table #VALUE!

The result I am looking for is 1000 - Customer ABC

I have tried so many variations of this formula and cannot find the correct one. What am I doing wrong??

Re: Table Builder - Concatenate

Posted: Mon Oct 17, 2016 3:58 pm
by CCJetXP
Hello A1becker,

Please see a similar Community posting with an answer in the below link:
viewtopic.php?t=4478

Cheers,

Re: Table Builder - Concatenate

Posted: Tue Oct 18, 2016 6:53 am
by a1becker
Thanks for the link. I did "scour" this site for answers before I posted my question. That is why I copied the exact formula I entered into NAV. I am wondering if I am just missing some "," or ")" and do no see it.

Thanks,

Re: Table Builder - Concatenate

Posted: Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:21 am
by krd1996
A1becker,

Did you get this resolved?

When I create this formula in Table Builder, I get the following:
=NP("Formula","concatenate([@[No.]],"" - "",[@[Name]])")

This produces your desired results. Compared to your formula, mine has double quotes around the dash (-) where yours does not.

Regards

Re: Table Builder - Concatenate

Posted: Tue Oct 25, 2016 10:13 am
by a1becker
krd1996,

thanks for the suggestion but I still get an error message. first I added another set of ("). That did not give me the correct results. Then I copied your formula and popped it into my Table. Still did not get the desired results.
jet error.jpg
Thanks for any suggestions you may have for me.

Re: Table Builder - Concatenate

Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2016 9:54 am
by JET-btr
The formula, when in Excel should be =NP("Formula","CONCATENATE([@[No.]],"" - "",[@[Name]])") with double quotes surrounding the -.

Re: Table Builder - Concatenate

Posted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 12:19 am
by mariareese
formula is working win 10 but not in win 7 .. I think you should try win 8 or win 10 to work as well.